Beautiful beautiful snow

I am completely in love with snow.  When it comes to snow (and probably quite a few other things) I am still a child.  When it snowed for weeks in the UK last year and everyone got sick of it, I was still excited every time I looked outside.

And now we’ve had some in Milan for the last week and a half!  I couldn’t resist getting the camera out, especially since I’ve just discovered Instagram so can play around with my phone shots.  So cue a photo-heavy post!

I caught the very first flakes from my room:

The Milan parks covered in a blanket.  I always think snow suits parks and the countryside so much more than the city streets where it just turns into grey slush.  And parks were made for playing in!

There has just been so much of it!  No icing sugar sprinkling here…

One of my friends took me to a beautiful cemetery the day after the snow came down.  It’s called Cimitero Monumentale (the English version of the website seems like a Google Translate production to me, but it does still have opening hours, directions and some nice pictures) and is right near Porta Garibaldi station, if you know Milan at all.

I couldn’t believe I’d never heard of it – it’s not one of Milan’s most touted tourist attractions and there was hardly anyone there when we went, but it’s completely gorgeous – I’d definitely recommend a visit to anyone visiting Milan.  I loved it in the snow, but am planning on heading back there when it melts so I can have a proper look round.  Each tomb is like a piece of art and it was so peaceful. But for now, a few snowy pics:

I have no shame in saying that I took great joy in making footprints in 5 inches of fresh, powdery snow, even if I did have numb toes by the time we left.

The next day I went to visit another friend and got to do it all over again!  The Italians in her town don’t really seem to “do” walking to places (unless they have a dog), so the pavements hadn’t turned to slush.

What a gorgeous week!

Leave a Reply

