Book Love: A Challenge

Heading into the new year, I’m definitely ready to take up some new challenges.  I know that some will definitely come my way whether I like it or not (especially with finishing my degree and starting a job), but on a slightly smaller scale I was thinking of joining the world of reading challenges.  I’ve never tried one before and now seems like a good time, especially with my ever-increasing to-read list!

I came across a challenge on The Book Garden that shouted out to me – it’s the Tea and Books Challenge, inspired by a C.S. Lewis quote: “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me”.  I couldn’t agree more 🙂

I’ve signed up for the first level, Chamomile Lover, which means I have to read two books of more than 650 pages next year.  I’ve had a quick look at my Goodreads list and I’m thinking of going with 11.22.63 by Stephen King and Skippy Dies by Paul Murray, both of which the internet tells me are the right length. Now just to make sure I can get hold of them!

I’ve never read anything by Stephen King, but I’ve seen a couple of reviews recommending this book for SK novices, so fingers crossed it’ll turn out well!  I have quite a few more books that would fit this challenge too, so I’ll see how it goes and maybe even upgrade to the next level – trying not to be too ambitious for now though…

As well as this new reading challenge I’ll be renewing my Goodreads challenge of reading 100 books in 2013 – I only managed 31 in 2012, so I at least have to improve on that!  I still think 100 books is manageable, even after my massive failure this year, because one of my sort-of resolutions will be to build up a proper bedtime reading habit (a bit sad, I know).  I’ve been trying for a while to do this instead of falling asleep watching Youtube videos/reading rubbish on my iPhone, and I’m determined that 2013 will be the year it happens.

Bring on the books!

2 thoughts on “Book Love: A Challenge

Leave a Reply

